الاستثمارات

تقوم هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية بإدارة محافظها بشكل فعال وفقاً لاستراتيجية ديناميكية لتوزيع الأصول يتم وضعها ومراقبتها من قبل مجلس الإدارة. تسعى المحافظ إلى تحقيق عوائد عالية وطويلة الأجل ومعدلة وفقاً للمخاطر، وذلك من خلال الاستثمار في شركات ومشاريع عالية الجودة، وقد نمى تواجد الهيئة العامة للاستثمار بشكل استراتيجي على مدار الـ65 عامًا الماضية مع أصول تغطي الأمريكتين وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادي والأسواق الناشئة.

فلسفة الاستثمار

نحرص في هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية على تحمل مسؤوليتنا تجاه المستقبل والتزامنا تجاه مساهمينا – الأجيال الحالية والمستقبلية في الكويت.

تتمثل مهمة الهيئة في تحقيق عائد استثماري طويل الأجل على الاحتياطيات المالية التي أوكلتها دولة الكويت إلى هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية عن طريق توفير بديل لاحتياطيات النفط.

تتمثل أهداف الهيئة في ثلاثة أبعاد: 

  1. تهدف الهيئة إلى تحقيق معدل عائد على استثماراتها يتجاوز ، على مدار ثلاث سنوات ، المعايير المركّبة من خلال تصميم والحفاظ على توزيع الأصول غير المرتبطة ، بما يتماشى مع الأهداف والمخاطرة المقررة.
  2. تسعى الهيئة إلى أن تكون مؤسسة عالمية لإدارة الاستثمارات ملتزمة بالتحسين المستمر في طريقة إدارة الأعمال.
  3. تلتزم الهيئة بتميز القطاع الخاص في الكويت ، مع ضمان عدم تنافسه أو استبداله في أي مجال.

الإطار العام للاستثمار

الهيئة العامة للاستثمار هي كيان قائم على العمل التجاري الذي يستثمر في مشاريع ذات أهداف ربحية محددة بوضوح. إذ أنّ لدى الهيئة أفق استثماري طويل المدى يتسم بالقدرة على تحمّل المخاطر واستيعاب تقلبات الأسواق على المدى القصير، وبالتالي فإنه يشكّل قوة لتحقيق الاستقرار في الأسواق المالية.

منذ إنشاء الهيئة بهدف تنويع اقتصاد الكويت عن طريق الحد من اعتماده على عائدات النفط، وهو أصل مستنفد، يحظر الدستور الكويتي على هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية الاقتراض لأغراض الاستثمار، ولا تستخدم الهيئة العامة للاستثمار أياً من منتجات المشتقات كأدوات استثمارية.

أدوات الاستثمار

تستثمر الهيئة العامة للاستثمار الأموال من خلال مديري صناديق الاستثمار الخارجيين، بينما يسمح لمكتب الاستثمار الكويتي في لندن استثمار الأموال بشكل مباشر. وقد أنشأت الهيئة العامة للاستثمار سلسلة من الكيانات المستقلة المتخصصة في الاستثمار في فئات أصول معينة بالإنابة عنها

نظرة عامة على الصناديق

الهيئة العامة للاستثمار هى الجهة المسؤولة عن إدارة صندوق الاحتياطى العام للكويت وصندوق احتياطي الأجيال القادمة، بالإضافة إلى جميع الصناديق الأخرى الموكلة إليه من قبل وزير المالية نيابة عن دولة الكويت.

كونه الاحتياطي العام لدولة الكويت فإنه المستودع الرئيسي لكل إيرادات دولة الكويت من العائدات النفطية والإيرادات الناتجة عن استثمارات صندوق الاحتياطي العام، وإن أصوله وإيراداته خاضعة لاستخدام دولة الكويت على النحو الذي تقرره الحكومة عند العرض السنوي لميزانية الدولة على مجلس الأمة “البرلمان”. كما أنّ صندوق الاحتياطي العام هو بمثابة “الخزينة العامة” للدولة.

وإن أصول الصندوق وإيراداته متوفرة لاستخدام دولة الكويت، كما تحددها الحكومة من وقت لآخر، وفقاً للموازنات السنوية التي يعتمدها مجلس الأمة، ويتعين على الدولة أن تجيز كافة المسحوبات من صندوق الاحتياطي العام عند إعداد الميزانية السنوية.

يتألف صندوق الاحتياطي العام من استثمارات في الكويت وفي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، فضلاً عن أصول بالعملات الأجنبية الرئيسة تديرها الهيئة العامة للاستثمار نيابة عن دولة الكويت. كما يضم صندوق الاحتياطي العام جميع الأصول الحكومية، بما في ذلك مشاركة الكويت في المؤسسات العامة وفي المنظمات متعددة الأطراف والهيئات الدولية. يتم سنوياً تحويل ما لا يقل عن 10٪ من جميع إيرادات الدولة بالإضافة إلى 10٪ من الدخل الصافي لصندوق الاحتياطي العام إلى صندوق الأجيال القادمة.

تم إنشاء صندوق الأجيال القادمة في عام 1976 بتحويل 50% من رصيد صندوق الاحتياطي العام في ذلك الوقت. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم إيداع ما لا يقل عن 10% من جميع إيرادات الدولة السنوية في صندوق الأجيال القادمة ثم يعاد استثمار العائد من كل إيرادات الصندوق.

ويتكون صندوق الأجيال القادمة من استثمارات تتم خارج الكويت على أساس استراتيجية معتمدة لتوزيع الأصول في فئات أصول مختلفة، تتراوح بين أصول تقليدية كالأسهم والسندات وبدائل كالملكية الخاصة، والعقارات، والبنية التحتية.

وتحكم صندوق الأجيال القادمة استراتيجية استثمار، معتمدة من مجلس إدارة الهيئة العامة للاستثمار، تحدد الخطوط العريضة للمبادئ التوجيهية في توازٍ مع أهداف الصندوق المتعلّقة بالمخاطر والعوائد، تدار أصوله من مكاتب الهيئة في الكويت ولندن وفقاً لتوزيع المهام الذي اعتمده مجلس إدارة الهيئة.

إن أي سحوبات مالية من صندوق الأجيال القادمة تتطلب إصدار تشريع خاص يجيز هذا السحب. وإن جميع إيرادات الصندوق يعاد استثمارها بحسب القانون.

The Kuwait Investment Authority actively manages its portfolio according to a dynamic asset allocation strategy set and monitored by our board of directors. The portfolios seek to deliver superior, long term, risk-adjusted returns, primarily through investments in high quality companies and projects, KIA’s global footprint has strategically grown over the past 65 years  with assets covering the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and Emerging Markets.

Strategy

At KIA, we are motivated by our responsibility to the future and our obligation to our shareholders- Kuwait’s current and future generations.

Our mission is to achieve a long-term investment return on the financial reserves entrusted by the State of Kuwait to KIA by providing an alternative to oil reserves.

KIA’s objectives are threefold:

  1. Aim to achieve a rate of return on our investment that, on a three-year rolling average, exceeds composite benchmarks by designing and maintaining an uncorrelated asset allocation, consistent with mandated return and risk objectives.
  2. Endeavor to be a world class investment management organization committed to continuous improvement in the way it conducts business.
  3. Committed to the excellence of the private sector in Kuwait, while ensuring that the KIA and the private sector work together to develop industries and companies in Kuwait.

Framework

KIA has a long term investment horizon and has the ability to bear risk and accommodate short term volatility, hence it is a force for stability in financial markets. We are a commercial driven entity that invests only in projects with clearly defined profitability targets.

Set up with a goal to diversify the Kuwaiti economy and reduce its reliance on oil revenue, KIA is constitutionally prohibited from borrowing for investment purposes and does not use any derivative products as investment vehicles.

Vehicles

While the mandate for KIO in London allows it to trade directly, KIA invests mostly through external fund managers and has over the years established a series of specialized standalone entities in order to excel in certain asset classes.

Overview Of funds

KIA is responsible for the management and administration of Kuwait’s General Reserve Fund (GRF) and its Future Generations Fund (FGF), as well as all other funds entrusted to it by the Ministry of Finance for and on behalf of the State of Kuwait.

Being the General Reserve for the State of Kuwait, this fund is the main repository of all of the state’s oil revenues and income earned from GRF investments. The fund’s assets and income therefrom are available for use by the State of Kuwait as determined by the passage of the state’s annual budget in parliament. In that sense, the GRF is the state treasury account.

Accordingly, all state budget expenditures are paid out of the GRF. The transfers from the GRF to pay the state budgetary expenditures are sanctioned by law. The state must authorize all withdrawals from the GRF through passage of the annual budget.

The fund consists primarily of investments in Kuwait and other MENA countries as well as hard currency assets held by KIA on behalf of the State of Kuwait. The GRF also holds all government assets, including Kuwait’s participation in public enterprises as well as Kuwait’s participation in multilateral and international organizations. On annual basis a minimum of 10% of all state revenues and 10% of the net income of the GRF are transferred to the FGF.

Established by Amiri Decree in 1976, the Future Generations Fund (FGF) is the flagship investment fund. It is set up as an intergenerational savings platform, where 50% of the savings were transferred from the GRF at that time. In addition, a minimum of 10% of all state revenues are transferred to the FGF on an annual basis and all investment income is reinvested.

The FGF consists of investments outside Kuwait based on an approved Strategic Asset Allocation in various asset classes ranging from more traditional assets such as equities and bonds to alternatives such as private equity, real estate and infrastructure.

The fund’s long term investment strategy is outlined and approved by the board of directors in parallel with the risk and return objectives of the fund. Management of the fund’s assets are split between KIA’s Kuwait and London offices based on the Board’s approval.

No assets can be withdrawn from the FGF unless sanctioned by law. All investment income are reinvested as required by law.